Receive information about important book releases by email.
You'll get 30+ e-books and articles when you join this Free email list.

Monday, April 12, 2010

specialty certification

The National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC) posted in their January/ February 2010 newsletter that:

NCTRC plans to award specialty certification in the following five areas of practice:
• Physical Medicine/Rehabilitation
• Geriatrics
• Developmental Disabilities
• Behavioral Health
• Community Inclusion Services

Think this is excellent for the advancement of the profession. Think it will help recreational therapists/ therapeutic recreation specialists to be better focused and prepared for their population.

I plan to pursue the Behavioral Health specialty certification myself. Not sure if I’d be eligible for the others at this time. My experience during the last 8 years has been working for a residential treatment unit for children at a psychiatric hospital.

My colleagues have specialty certificates for their fields.

Here is an example: some of our nurses have specialty certifications in psyche. The counselors have specialty certifications in treating addictions or sex offenders and other diagnosis.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Total Pageviews

Popular Posts